cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M24512-W

pepito60
Associate II

Hi,

I need help to identify a 512 Kbit serial I²C bus EEPROM from the M24512 series.

I have two differents parts which appear identical, apart from one letter at the end of the reference : M24512-WG for the first one and M24512-WP for the second (photos attached).

Could some tell me what is the difference beetween the two parts ?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

IMG_6511.jpeg

Dear @pepito60 , @Tesla DeLorean ,

Here you go , we sent A PCN to our customers  in 2009 on the difference with an upgraded design. 

IMG_6514.jpeg

IMG_6513.jpeg

Let me know if it helps. and sincerely sorry for the experience you had . Merci depuis Paris 🙂 Metro

Ciao,

STOne-32

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
GET
ST Employee

Hi @pepito60 , 

Please note I am not an expert of EEPROM @ST, but when looking at the datasheet Datasheet - M24512-W M24512-R M24512-DF - 512-Kbit serial I²C bus EEPROM (st.com), it comes to me that in chapter 10 ordering information, there is something which could explain the meaning of these extension digits P or G: The Plating Technology (which is identified either by P or G = ECOPACK 2 ). Indeed the exact diffrence between both is not described here, but my understanding would be the plating technology may be different between parts. 

For further details, I would suggest to post a dedicated request to ST support.

Best Regards,

Places like Mouser and DigiKey may carry things like PCN

ST Online Support Request, go here https://ols.st.com/s/

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

Hello GET,

Thanks for your reply but i have already contacted the ST support.

And the response is that they don't know what the P in the marking part he's referring to !

Very usefull !

Hello pepito60,

OK, sorry, I can't help you more on this subject.