cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

osMessageGet Crashing

temp2010
Senior

I have lots of experience in the general area, but am new to both STM32 and FreeRTOS specifically.

I'm adding a message queue to my program, using the Code at https://www.keil.com/pack/doc/CMSIS/RTOS/html/group__CMSIS__RTOS__Message.html#gac9a6a6276c12609793e7701afcc82326 as an example to follow.

It seems that osMessageGet is crashing. I have a breakpoint both on and after the call to osMessageGet(). I can single step debug into osMessageGet(). It behaves as expected, finds a message, sets up the "event" structure that is to be returned, and gets to the function return statement. If I let the program run from that point, I expect to reach my second breakpoint that's after the call. Instead, I don't reach it. When I pause the program, I see it's stuck in the HardFault_Handler(). So something must be wrong with the return happening.

The only thing I can think of is to ask, "huh? It's returning a complex data type that is a structure?" Do I have to set up some special flags or something in order for the compiler to do this correctly?

Meanwhile, I printed out the size of the structure and it's only 12 bytes. I bumped my stack up that much and there was no change. So I don't think it's a stack size problem.

I set a breakpoint in the interrupt routine that's filling the queue with pointers to structures from a pool, and that breakpoint wasn't hit between the time I let the return in question execute and the program being in hard fault. So I do not think the issue is a task switch and the fault actually occurring due to something other than the return itself.

What could be wrong here?

Below is a screenshot of the hard fault:

and below are germane segments of my code:

// Global declarations

int can1_rx_drop_count = 0;

typedef struct {
		CAN_RxHeaderTypeDef   RxHeader;
		uint8_t               RxData[8];
	} RxPacket_t;
	RxPacket_t RxPacket;