cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where is Code editor in TouchGFX also where is output window to know errors generated? Run failed for me, where to check for errors?

ABeck.1
Associate II

I am new to TouchGFX. I am working on STM32 controller based project. In that TFT LCD screen is one of the peripherals. I want to create screens using TouchGFX so that i can set value on screen and run timer according to the value entered on screen, during this complete duration my led will be ON

25 REPLIES 25
Martin KJELDSEN
Chief III

TouchGFX is a code generator only, it's not an ide/compiler, but can interact with iar/keil/gcc projects.

When you "run" the designer runs 'make' . The errors should be in the graphical log window in the designer or in %APPDATA%/TouchGFX-4.13.0/

/Martin

https://touchgfx.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360018667192-Step-1-Setting-up-the-two-Screens?mobile_site=true

I am trying example mentioned in above link. It says I have to edit some files, add line of codes, so where to do that? I edited using Notepad++, after that on generating code, I am getting error. How to check for errors and how to resolve it .. I havnt conncted any IDE with TouchGFX till now

Alexandre RENOUX
Principal

You can use editors like Visual Studio Code or Sublime Text that allows you to open entire folders, which can help you in your development.

Use these editors to edit files and add lines of code. Your generated project should be situated in C:/TouchGFXProjects/ if C: is your root and you left the default configuration during the TouchGFX installation. Open the corresponding folder in C:/TouchGFXProjetcs/ and edit the code.

Make sure you do not change files that are generated by TouchGFX Designer. These files should have some text at the beginning stating that this file is generated by TouchGFX Designer and therefore should not be edited by the programmer.