cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST25R3911B with antenna size 30x40cm

michaelhagmann9
Associate II

Hi

I am new to NFC solutions and I have to design a product that can read NFC tags inside an area of about 30x40cm. The tags won't be far away, I think less than 10cm. But they are all placed inside this area, with the wire-antenna around them.

Is it possible to fulfill this requirement with the ST25R3911B NFC reader?

What would be the best solution for the antenna (wire diameter and umber of turns)?

Thank you very much for your help.

Best regards

Michael

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Travis Palmer
ST Employee

​Hello Michael,

This would be the perfect use-case for the ST25R3911B in combination with ST25TV . Its high output power and high sensitivity are perfect for this application.

I would suggest the following procedure:

1.) Doing a one turn wire wound antenna with the dimension of 30x40 cm.

2.) Measure the antenna parameters and design a matching network using application note AN4974

The following inputs are recommended:

Target mathching impedance: 15Ohm

Target antenna Q: 30

4.) Solder the calculated and simulated matching network on a ST25R3911B-DISCO board, disconnect AAT and the onboard PCB antenna

5.) connect your wire wound antenna to the ST25R3911B-DISCO

6.) crosscheck and finetune the antenna matching circuit to achieve maximum output power.

7.) adjust the capacitive voltage divider to 2.7Vpp to achieve best sensitivity.

8.) Check tag reading the your volume (30x40x10 cm)

BR Travis

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Travis Palmer
ST Employee

​Hello Michael,

This would be the perfect use-case for the ST25R3911B in combination with ST25TV . Its high output power and high sensitivity are perfect for this application.

I would suggest the following procedure:

1.) Doing a one turn wire wound antenna with the dimension of 30x40 cm.