cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bool is undefined

joe.lopilato
Associate II

9 REPLIES 9

So define it with a typedef, or #include the file defining it....

Perhaps you can provide some context, and ask a question, rather than just a title as a declarative statement...

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
joe.lopilato
Associate II

What a surprise!!! - I wasn't expecting an answer because I used the title as a search term. Somehow (obviously a mistake on my part) I must have mistakenly added it as a question to the forum. Gotta RTFM.

I found the answer when I realized that the header file had to be included.

However, having said that I must thank you for taking the time to respond (especially on a Sunday!!!).

I am a retired Electrical Engineer and trying to finally learn how to program in C/C++. It is quite a turn-around from designing with hardware op-amps, TTL gates, bit shifters, etc to software memory locations, registers, variables, pointers, bit-shifting, etc..

I am pleased that there are folks like you that will help to get me there. Thanks...

joemccarr
Senior

Start with an Arduino, faster learning curve. Then when your comfortable with it move to a STM32. You'll probably be able to do nearly everything you want with an arduino anyways.

Lead

> You'll probably be able to do nearly everything you want with an arduino anyways.

Only if somebody else wrote/ported it already for you.

And usually about one order of magnitude slower than accessing the MCU directly.

joemccarr
Senior

It's about a better starting place if you don't have any embedded programming experience. The community aspect of the Arduino is much more helpfull for beginners. You write everything yourself? You don't use libraries ?

Lead

> You write everything yourself?

If necessary, yes.