cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L412: Preserving certain sections of flash so that they are not erased when the MCU is reprogrammed?

MCocke.1
Associate

Hi Everybody,

Firstly, I would like to note that I am pretty new to embedded systems, so I am sorry if my terminology is off or if I am not communicating clearly, please forgive the (probably) gaping holes in my knowledge. I will do my best to communicate my problem as clearly as I can.

I am working with a STM32L412 on product development, the team I a part of would like to have a section of flash not be erased when the MCU is reprogrammed. The amount of information that we need to be preserved is small, maybe at most 200 bytes, enough space to store some information like a serial number, baud rate, etc.

To that end, I currently have sectioned off the last page (page 63) of flash in my L412 in the linker file to separate it from the rest of flash, so I can use it to contain this information.

//This is what I have so far in the linker file. 
   RAM   (xrw)   : ORIGIN = 0x20000000,  LENGTH = 40K
   RAM2   (xrw)   : ORIGIN = 0x10000000,  LENGTH = 8K
   FLASH   (rx)   : ORIGIN = 0x8000000,  LENGTH = 126K
   DeviceInfo (rx)   : ORIGIN = 0x801F800,  LENGTH = 2K

Is there anything that I would need to do in the linker file to ensure that Device info wont get rewritten by the programmer tool?

In looking into different options on how to make this flash persist through reprogramming, I learned that it is possible to write protect certain sections of flash, but the documentation on write protection on page 98 of RM0394 Rev4 seems to imply that write protection will make any attempts to reprogram the MCU fail. Is this true or am I just being overly cautious as a new developer.