cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do i need to create .bin file for an QSPI memory?

DK.7
Senior

I am a beginner and I do according to this video "External Qaspi Loader How to - 05 - Qspi Driver Coding" https://youtu.be/XqCq0xtQmbI I uploaded the project "EXTERNAL QSPI Loader" to stm and now question about .bin file

How to create a data file to be stored in the Flash memory,

which can be a binary file or .hex?

For example, I have a project "Hello World" and I want to upload it to external QSPI memory.

I need as usual to create a project "Hello world" and just indicate in the stm32CubeIDE settings to create a .bin

Or I need to make some additional settings for my "Hello world" project like, MPU configuration!?!

And the resulting file, to program Quad-SPI Flash memory using the ST-LINK utility...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

From the application side I would avoid reseting or touching the RCC for the most part. Specifically you really don't want to be tearing down the clock sources, PLLs, or reconfiguring or touching anything related to the QSPI.

For example not DeInit'ing the GPIO bank(s)

Contractually you want ALL the system bring-up on the Boot Loader side, ie the clocks the PLL, the system critical pins, etc. The things you will use all the time, and would facilitate system updates and recovery.

You don't have to bring up UART, SPI, I2C that the loader doesn't use. And generally you don't want a lot of interrupts, as these will complicate the hand-over.

The SystemInit() on the App side needs to be relatively lean, perhaps enable the FPU, and assign the new operational SCB->VTOR

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

STM32 Cube Programmer can take .BIN, .HEX files as input

.BIN files can be created via tools like objcopy, fromelf or srecords