cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure STM32CubeMX to support C++ development?

Ade J.3
Associate II

When I use CubeMX, the default language of my genereted code is C. I would like to develop in C++, as I can do in STM32CubeIDE. (I want to use VSCode to program)

Is there any option to do this? I've tried just change the main.c to main.cpp, but it didn't work.

(I'm a noob. So, if this questions is elementar, please, let me know likewise).

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ghofrane GSOURI
ST Employee

Hello @Ade J.3​ 

Actually, The IDE supported by the CubeMX are: STM32CubeIDE, EWARM, MDK ARM and Makefile .

VS Code is not supported by CubeMX.

Thx

Ghofrane

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Ghofrane GSOURI
ST Employee

Hello @Ade J.3​ ;

First of all let me thank you for posting.

While C may be the preferred language of many embedded programmers, C++ does have a place, especially if you want to use certain libraries.

I will show you how to get started making a program (blinky) for an STM32 microcontroller using C++ on STM32CubeIDE.

I will use an ST Nucleo-L432KC for this demonstration, as it’s small, fits on a breadboard, and still has a powerful ARM Cortex-M4 core. You are welcome to use any STM32 part, but I generally recommend starting out with one of the Nucleo boards.

Plug your STM32 part into your computer.

Start STM32CubeIDE[link] and select File > New > STM32 Project. Select your target microcontroller or board (I’ll select my Nucleo-L432KC).

0693W00000VOhhZQAT.pngClick Next and then give your project a name. I like to prefix the board I’m using to the project name, so nucleo-l432-cpp-blinky is what I called mine. In Targeted Language, select C++.

0693W00000VOhiSQAT.pngClick Finish and click Yes when asked, “Initialize all peripherals with their default Mode?�? Click Yes to open the new perspective.

Leave everything as default on the CubeMX device configuration GUI.