cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to receive a 4k UDP packet when my MTU is 1500, using fragmented IP packets?

Mz.1
Associate III

Hey,

I Have STM32H743Zi

I'm new at this, so please forgive me if I'm unclear.

I'm trying to receive 4k UDP packets but I'm getting only 1k each time.

I did a Google search and understand that if I want to receive a UDP packet of 4k I need to use fragmentation due to the MTU being 1500.

I tried to enable the below parameters:

IP_REASSEMBLY - enabled

MEMP_NUM_REASSDATA - 5

IP_REASS_MAX_PBUFS - 10

MEMP_NUM_FRAG_PBUF - 4

inside my callback function, I'm trying to read all the 4k data, I'm getting 1k in the first node but the next node in the pbuf is always NULL.

I also see on Wirshak messages with 1k

while I'm sending using Hrecules 4k for sure.

this is the callback function code:

void UDP_TX_RECEIVE_CALLBACK(void *arg, struct udp_pcb *upcb, struct pbuf *p, const ip_addr_t *addr, u16_t port)

{

char TxUdpPacket[SPI_PACKET_SIZE] = {0, };

// Process each received fragment

while (p != NULL)

{

// Copy fragment data to appropriate position in udpPacket array

memcpy(&TxUdpPacket[p->tot_len - p->len], p->payload, p->len);

// Move to the next fragment

struct pbuf *next = p->next;

pbuf_free(p);

p = next;

}

}

pls, help!!

thank you 🙂

21 REPLIES 21

> I also see on Wirshak messages with 1k

> while I'm sending using Hrecules 4k for sure.

If Wireshark does not see 4k packets, why would STM32 see them?

JW

@Community member​ 

sorry you are right, my mistake.

I see 4k on Wireshark as well now.

still no change...

but if I'm adding a breakpoint in the callback method, it won't stop if the message is more than 1500 bytes.

Mz.1
Associate III

@Community member​ any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Pavel A.
Evangelist III