cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to customize startup file?

trieunguyen
Associate II

I am a newbie in embedded programming. My idea is to build 3 applications with 3 separate project file. These 3 applications will work together in 1 CPU as shown in the image below:

trieunguyen_0-1722178081604.png

To jump from App to another APP, I do the same way bootloader jumps to application:

#define ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM 0x08120000
#define ADDR_APP_3_PROGRAM 0x08140000

typedef void (*pJumpFunc)(void);
pJumpFunc	Jump_To_App;

void Jum_To_APP_2(void);

int main(void)
{
	Jum_To_APP_2();
}

void Jum_To_APP_2(void)
{
	Jump_To_App = (pJumpFunc)*(volatile uint32_t*)(ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM + 4);

//	__disable_irq();
	__set_MSP(*(volatile uint32_t*) ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM);
	Jump_To_App();
}

Jump from one application to another was successful. But the obvious problem here is that data segment initializers copy from flash to SRAM of APP_2 and APP_3 will be performed repeatedly in a loop. I thought of a few ideas like: skipping the copy instructions in the startup code from the 2nd loop onwards, but I'm stuck. I don't find any commands related to _sdata, _sidata... or bss in the startup file generated by STM32CubeMX.  Is there some hidden code associated with the current startup file? Can I create a custom startup file to replace the current startup file?

If you can I would love for you to give me an idea! Thank you very much!

(I'm using Keil.I used the label STM32CubeIDE because I couldn't find a more suitable label.)

15 REPLIES 15
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@trieunguyen wrote:

I am a newbie in embedded programming. My idea is to build 3 applications with 3 separate project file. .)

Why 3 separate apps?

It sounds like what you really have is just one application, with 3 modes.

That can easily be implemented as 3 functions:

do_app1_stuff();

while(1)
{
   do_app2_stuff();
   do_app3_stuff();
}