cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to customize startup file?

trieunguyen
Associate II

I am a newbie in embedded programming. My idea is to build 3 applications with 3 separate project file. These 3 applications will work together in 1 CPU as shown in the image below:

trieunguyen_0-1722178081604.png

To jump from App to another APP, I do the same way bootloader jumps to application:

#define ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM 0x08120000
#define ADDR_APP_3_PROGRAM 0x08140000

typedef void (*pJumpFunc)(void);
pJumpFunc	Jump_To_App;

void Jum_To_APP_2(void);

int main(void)
{
	Jum_To_APP_2();
}

void Jum_To_APP_2(void)
{
	Jump_To_App = (pJumpFunc)*(volatile uint32_t*)(ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM + 4);

//	__disable_irq();
	__set_MSP(*(volatile uint32_t*) ADDR_APP_2_PROGRAM);
	Jump_To_App();
}

Jump from one application to another was successful. But the obvious problem here is that data segment initializers copy from flash to SRAM of APP_2 and APP_3 will be performed repeatedly in a loop. I thought of a few ideas like: skipping the copy instructions in the startup code from the 2nd loop onwards, but I'm stuck. I don't find any commands related to _sdata, _sidata... or bss in the startup file generated by STM32CubeMX.  Is there some hidden code associated with the current startup file? Can I create a custom startup file to replace the current startup file?

If you can I would love for you to give me an idea! Thank you very much!

(I'm using Keil.I used the label STM32CubeIDE because I couldn't find a more suitable label.)

15 REPLIES 15
MM..1
Chief II

Try explain more. If you  plan more MCU work together, then seems APP1 is run only once then waste MCU here...

And memory can be set as NOINIT then stay as is when MCU is powered...

Yes, APP_1 only runs once, then APP_2 and APP_3 will form an infinite loop. In each main function of each APP there is no while (1) loop. All apps are in only 1 CPU.