Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Needed: Migrating from MicroXplorer to STM32CubeIDE

LuciferD
Associate II

Hey everyone,

Hope you're all doing well.

So, I'm pretty new to ST Microcontrollers and IDEs. I've got a bunch of projects that I've been working on using MicroXplorer. But guess what? MicroXplorer's now outdated. So, I've got to move everything over to STM32CubeIDE.

Can anyone here give me some tips on how to do this? What's the best way to go about it?

Thanks a bunch!

Best,
Luci

8 REPLIES 8
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

AIUI, MicroXplorer was the predecessor of CubeMX - I guess that's where the "MX" suffix came from?

https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/microxplorer.html 

@LuciferD wrote:

Can anyone here give me some tips on how to do this? What's the best way to go about it?

It's just a configuration code generator.

You should be able to build & modify the code with any toolchain, such as STM32CubeIDE.

Have you tried it?

Did it generate .ioc files? If so, have you tried just importing them into CubeMX?

LuciferD
Associate II

Hi Andrew,

I wanted to share an update regarding a recent development with the project. When I initially cloned the project from GitHub, I already had the .ioc file generated. However, upon attempting to import the project as is, I encountered errors related to header files and other components.

To address this, I modified my approach. Instead of importing directly, I navigated to File > New > STM32 project from an existing STM32CubeMX configuration File (.ioc). I then included the .ioc file from the MicroXplorer project.

After building the project using this method, I was pleased to find that it compiled successfully without any errors. However, I still have some lingering uncertainty about whether everything went smoothly.

Best regards,

Luci

Pavel A.
Evangelist III