cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 VS Code Extension and Devcontainer

pcb
Associate II

I am a happy VSCode developer using docker devcontainers to create an easily reproducible environment for development. I am struggling with a strange bug with the "STM32 VS Code Extension" (v2.0.1).

If I try to access it, after opening the container, I get the following error:
"Cannot activate the 'STM32 VS Code Extension' extension because it depends on the 'C/C++ Extension Pack' extension, which is not loaded. Would you like to reload the window to load the extension?"

This is strange because the C/C++ Extension Pack is loaded and part of my dev container.

I have the option to "Reload Window", but hitting it only results in a reload and the same message popping back up.

Has anyone been able to use this vscode extension inside a devcontainer?

Joachim Spange
Head in the embedded
13 REPLIES 13
Nawres GHARBI
ST Employee

Hi @pcb 

we are currently trying to reproduce the issue, we will keep you informed.

Nawres GHARBI
ST Employee

Hi @pcb 

Could you please attach the content of 'output' 'debug console' and 'terminal' windows when you are getting the issue please ? 

pcb
Associate II

Thank you for looking into this, @Nawres GHARBI 

"Debug Console" and "Terminal" are both empty, no text there.

See attached photo.

Joachim Spange
Head in the embedded

Same problem here:

mongolracer_0-1713788315704.png

reinstalled, rebooted etc etc.

Nawres GHARBI
ST Employee

hello @pcb @mongolracer 

could you please follow the steps in this link and give your feedback

https://github.com/microsoft/vscode-python/issues/15972

@Nawres GHARBI I don't understand what you want me to do here.

Please elaborate.

I have Jupyter, pylance, and python extensions in vscode and STM32 VS Code extension works.

In my devcontainer I have none of them installed, the there the STM32 VS Code extension does not work.

Joachim Spange
Head in the embedded
kmcwithey