cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 VS Code Extension and Devcontainer

pcb
Associate II

I am a happy VSCode developer using docker devcontainers to create an easily reproducible environment for development. I am struggling with a strange bug with the "STM32 VS Code Extension" (v2.0.1).

If I try to access it, after opening the container, I get the following error:
"Cannot activate the 'STM32 VS Code Extension' extension because it depends on the 'C/C++ Extension Pack' extension, which is not loaded. Would you like to reload the window to load the extension?"

This is strange because the C/C++ Extension Pack is loaded and part of my dev container.

I have the option to "Reload Window", but hitting it only results in a reload and the same message popping back up.

Has anyone been able to use this vscode extension inside a devcontainer?

Joachim Spange
Head in the embedded
13 REPLIES 13

I was able to get this error to go away if i changed my profile to "Default" which doesnt have the STM32 extension on it

sslebie_0-1720736482768.png

sslebie
Associate II

Yeah by doing that I was able to install the STM32CubeCLT, build my project, and properly generate an elf file.

I'm wondering if you just need the STM32 VS Code Extension not to be installed on the local host. I'm going to work on getting the Dockerfile setup properly so that the image can fully build.

Do you know how to pass a USB device (The STLink Debugger tool) from Windows into the Docker Image?

I only have the "Default' profile. And since it works very well on the host machine, I think it is not the issue you have suggested. 

kestrel_1-1720740520119.png

Image from Visual Studio Code. Developing inside a Container.

And due to the way VSCode extension works, the host machine must have the extension installed to use it inside the container. Therefore, I think that the secons issue is also not the case I am experiencing now.