cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi,i am a beginner in MPU development. I have created cortex-M4 firmware project using stm32cubeide , but how can i start my firmware at the time of bootup?

AGupt.8
Associate II

i have read the article, https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_start_the_coprocessor_from_the_bootloader#Starting_the_coprocessor_firmware

where will i find this in my device tree

#define CONFIG_EXTRA_ENV_SETTINGS \

"stdin=serial\0" \

"stdout=serial\0" \

"stderr=serial\0" \

BOOTENV \

"m4fw_name=rproc-m4-fw.elf\0" \

"m4fw_addr=${kernel_addr_r}\0" \

"boot_m4fw=rproc init; rproc load 0 ${m4fw_addr} ${filesize}; rproc start 0\0" \

"boot_m4_mmc0=if ext4load mmc 0:4 ${m4fw_addr} ${m4fw_name} ; then run boot_m4fw; fi;\0"

"bootcmd=run boot_m4_mmc0; run bootcmd_mmc0\0"

13 REPLIES 13
Cindy_GE
ST Employee

Hi,

You should add these line

"m4fw_name=rproc-m4-fw.elf\0" \

"boot_m4fw=rproc init; rproc load 0 ${m4fw_addr} ${filesize}; rproc start 0\0" \

"boot_m4_mmc0=if ext4load mmc 0:4 ${m4fw_addr} ${m4fw_name} ; then run boot_m4fw; fi;\0"

into <U-boot source code>/include/configs/stm32mp1.h, then re-compile/flash U-boot, bot the device tree.

AGupt.8
Associate II

a

#define CONFIG_EXTRA_ENV_SETTINGS \

"kernel_addr_r=0xc2000000\0" \

"fdt_addr_r=0xc4000000\0" \

"scriptaddr=0xc4100000\0" \

"pxefile_addr_r=0xc4200000\0" \

"splashimage=0xc4300000\0" \

"ramdisk_addr_r=0xc4400000\0" \

"altbootcmd=run bootcmd\0" \

"env_check=if env info -p -d -q; then env save; fi\0" \

STM32MP_BOOTCMD \

BOOTENV \

"m4fw_name=rproc-m4-fw_CM4.elf\0" \

"boot_m4_mmc0=if ext4load mmc 0:4 ${m4fw_addr} ${m4fw_name} ; then run boot_m4fw; fi;\0"

i copied this in u-boot/include/configs/stm32mp1.h and tried compiling, but i am getting the below error

include/configs/stm32mp1.h:165:9: error: expected identifier or ‘(’ before string constant

165 |        "bootcmd=run boot_m4_mmc0; run bootcmd_mmc0\0"