cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 with TouchGFX - Updating UI background image at runtime

Ricko
Associate III

Hi,
I am new to STM32 so this might seem a basic question... I am thinking of using one to interface to this round touch display:
https://thepihut.com/products/3-4inch-dsi-round-touch-display-800x800   
and ideally use TouchGFX for the UI/code.

The application is a simple vending machine. And while in standby it displays a static picture (an advert or logo) and this picture needs to be updated by the local vending machine outlet through a USB pen drive or micro SD card (and needs to be a very simple process like insert the pen drive or uSD card then press a button to update)

Some questions if someone could please help:

1) is it possible to change the background image at runtime?

2) If so, how? Do I just copy literally byte by byte the new image into the (FLASH I assume?) memory location storing the current image initially programmed by TouchGFX?

3) what format (file type) is the image stored into the micro by TouchGFX initially?

4) for round displays, how it the image stored? Like a square image with transparent (or disregarded) corner areas? Or as a circle (which would obviously save some memory)?

5) where can I find a list of displays that are already setup in TouchGFX?

Thank you for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GaetanGodart
ST Employee

Hello @Ricko and welcome to the community!

Yes.

2) If so, how? Do I just copy literally byte by byte the new image into the (FLASH I assume?) memory location storing the current image initially programmed by TouchGFX?

There is many way.

The simplest way is to set 2 images as background, one on top of the other. When you want to show the second background, simply set the first background not visible like so:

background1.setVisible(false);
background1.invalidate();

!!! Spoiler for question 3 !!!