cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suggestions about security?

Vmere.1
Senior

Hello,

I'm working for an MNC and we use stm32l431cc.

And I have to implement firmware updates over the air.

physical connection:

TARGET DEVICE <---UART----> External IOT DEVICE (GSM MODULE) which can be plugged in and out <----> Cloud service.

For the security part, I need advice or suggestions. I'm new to this topic, so I found confidentiality, integrity, and Authentication are important criteria for this situation.

What I understood confidentiality: No one can decrypt my firmware even if they got this through (physical wire etc.) or through cloud.

Integrity: Know if the firmware is changed or corrupted, intentionally or not. Like a crc check.

Authenticity: A math formula that "I know that this firmware is 100% from this person and decide what to do now".

Question:

integrity and authenticity are quite important. But why confidentiality?? Should I encrypt my software? Because a binary image is just bits right? either 0 or 1?

Can you suggest/advice what is important and what is not?

Also you can suggest where can I insert my CIA in the above physical system? For example using a secure UART or encrypted binary etc. Which is a good option in your opinion?

Question:

Can you also suggest what hardware and software changes to implement this setup?

Note: In this system, everything happens in the background. The consumer cannot know anything. there is no display, only one lead that's all.

Regards,

Vijay

3 REPLIES 3
Piranha
Chief II

If the firmware is not encrypted, someone can:

• Make a compatible device and use your firmware.
  • Find and use vulnerabilities in your firmware.
  • Analyse your special algorithms, constants, data.