cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What diagnostics can be run on PC and STM32 to debug failing USB virtual COM port?

KHarb.1
Senior II

I have an STM32G4 board that is to function as a virtual COM port via USB.  This is my first attempt at implementing USB. Within CubeIDE, I enabled the USB feature and configured a middleware device for the virtual COM port. I’m not seeing the PC react in any way when I connect the board. I’m not sure where to begin to debug and I don't see any examples for the STM32G, so I'm also not sure if I've completed all the needed steps for it show up as a PC device.

Can I observe connection progress with the PC via the USB registers? 

If I had an electrical failure on the USB connection, what diagnostics could I run in software from the PC?

17 REPLIES 17
bm2
Associate III

yes, but I have only one time use it and than I by me the USB protocol analyser

I've been using Cube and not MX. I didn't even know MX had an example library. Thanks!

CubeMX is the standalone product. It's integrated as a plugin into CubeIDE. Whenever you create an ioc or configure peripherals using the embedded GUI, you're actually using CubeMX.

From CubeIDE, examples are availabe via File/Import/STM32 example (or similar). You will need to install the firmware package for the particular family the example targets.

- If a post has answered your question, please acknowledge the help you received by clicking "Accept as Solution".
- Once you've solved your issue, please consider posting a summary of any additional details you've learned. Your new knowledge may help others in the future.
bm2
Associate III

Sorry KHarb.1,

I will go back to one of the first questions. Which board did you have? For the STM32G473 exists only one ST evualation board: Discovery kit with STM32G473 . And this board have only one USB connector, that is the ST-Link USB connector. You need a board with a USB connector to the target STM32G473.