cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USART interrupt handling in Rust

sekhar
Associate II

Hi, I'm new to embedded (as in one week old) and am trying to build a small system to do a few things for an optical product we're building: mainly temp measurement (Omega SA1-RTD with MAX31865) and LED management for optical lasers. Currently I have both working on STM32F446RE (Nucleo board for now), which is great.

Now, I need to be able to communicate with the system from the computer (Ubuntu box). We have the rest of the system (a collection of 10 motors, all daisy chained to work with MODBUS over RS485) connected to the computer via an RS485/USB adapter. I was thinking of making this STM32 system act as another peripheral to be part of that daisy chain.

My question now is: how can I build this communication link? I have a working example of interrupt handling with the user button on the Nucleo on EXTI15_10. However, I'm not sure how I can set up interrupts for USART (I'm assuming that'd be the way for MODBUS). I hooked up for USART2, but don't see how I can receive the MODBUS messages via interrupts. In general, what is the process for interrupt handling? E.g., where is the info on which kind of event (like the serial event) generates what kind of interrupt (like the EXTI15_10 above)?

I'm building this in Rust, so unfortunately the C/C++ code examples online aren't super helpful, but even if you don't have pointers on Rust code, if you could just explain the theory or point to references, I'd really appreciate it. I do have Electronics background. Thanks a bunch!

14 REPLIES 14
KnarfB
Principal III