Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UART receive until idle line.

BMart
Associate II

Hi! I'm trying to use the following function:

HAL_UARTEx_ReceiveToIdle_IT(&hlpuart1, lpuartRXbuffer, 64);

I've seen a few example codes using it but otherwise google shows nothing when I search for it. I think I should get some callback but I cannot figure what should it be. I tried the following:

void HAL_UARTEx_RxEventCalllback(UART_HandleTypeDef *huart, uint16_t Size)
{

}

But there is no response.

I'm new to the STM32 software environment, coming from Arduino and Atmel so any advice where to find such information helps a lot.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Piranha
Chief II

> Is there any obvious beginner mistake?

Yes, there is - the spelling of the function name... 😉

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
TDK
Guru

HAL_UARTEx_ReceiveToIdle_IT is relatively new compared to the other UART functions which explains the lack of examples.

HAL_UARTEx_RxEventCalllback HAL_UARTEx_RxEventCallback is called when the idle condition happens exactly here in the code:

https://github.com/STMicroelectronics/STM32CubeF4/blob/4aba24d78fef03d797a82b258f37dbc84728bbb5/Drivers/STM32F4xx_HAL_Driver/Src/stm32f4xx_hal_uart.c#L2530

If that's not happening, you would need to dig deeper. Ensure the HAL_UART_IRQHandler is getting called. Ensure the idle flag is getting set and the interrupt is enabled. When idle happens, ensure the IRQ handler is called and handled appropriately.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
BMart
Associate II

Well then I have to dig deeper. I have interrupts enabled and the regular "HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback" works perfectly when I use "HAL_UART_Receive_IT".

I'll paste a few pieces of my code here, maybe it's just my beginner mistake:

In the main, after initializing the peripherals (init generated by the IDE), I use