cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F427VI firmware retrieval

fabrecordz
Associate II

Hi All,

Been reading and learning a lot about MCU's in general. I'm very very new to all of this so please bare with me.

The board comes with STM32F427, and a custom .exe that can flash directly via USB-C. I've read about fake STM32's, and. I'm not sure if the MCU is genuine or not, but I'm adding the picture so someone can maybe help.

The board comes with Ethernet, 3 USB-A, 1 USB-C (act as UART maybe?)

The custom .exe can be flashed via USB-C after I put it in DFU mode I presume? (I hold the boot, it flashes blue to allow the flashing). I can click on flash, restore, or even backup basic configs.

I would like to duplicate or retrieve the firmware so I can test it in another board. I tried STM32Cube, ESPtools, and many others, but it doesn't seem to recognize any connectivity.

Any help or guidance would be appreciate.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Something should show up if you're connected via USB. Perhaps a serial port, but something. If after you "put it in DFu mode", nothing changes in the device manager, then it's not using the system DFU bootloader, or any DFU bootloader. Perhaps it's using a custom one (most likely), but perhaps it's using the serial port system bootloader. If it is, you can still connect with STM32CubeProgrammer and read memory (if RDP is not set).

If you can trace the USB data lines on the board, it should be straightforward to see where they go, unless they're buried.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
TDK
Guru

A few things:

If it is using DFU mode (as opposed to a custom bootloader), you can connect with STM32CubeProgrammer and download the flash, provided it doesn't have readout protection (RDP) set up. If it does, you're out of luck.