cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F407 Discovery board and TLC5947

VYada.3
Associate II

Hi

I'm new to using STM Microcontrollers and I have the Discovery board as my development board, I have used Arduino religiously and thought I should learn something new.

I have learnt how to modify data registers, for example, turn the 4 LEDs on and off, also get an input from the push button to get the Leds to turn on.

Am now looking at PWM, which I did get to work. I had a previous project which uses these TLC5947 to turn some LEDs on, I used Arduino and it worked fine, since it used PWM I thought I could practice with these. Unfortunately, trying to get it to work with the discovery board isn't working out the way that I want and was wondering if someone can help me.

I know the Arduino has a 16Mhz clock and PWM frequency is 490hz and I know the discovery board is way higher. I just generally don't know where to begin

adfruit has a libaray file which modifys the pwm high and low using the code below

void Adafruit_TLC5947::write() {
  digitalWrite(_lat, LOW);
  // 24 channels per TLC5974
  for (int16_t c = 24 * numdrivers - 1; c >= 0; c--) {
    // 12 bits per channel, send MSB first
    for (int8_t b = 11; b >= 0; b--) {
      digitalWrite(_clk, LOW);

if (pwmbuffer[c] & (1 << b))
        digitalWrite(_dat, HIGH);
      else
        digitalWrite(_dat, LOW);

digitalWrite(_clk, HIGH);
    }
  }
  digitalWrite(_clk, LOW);

digitalWrite(_lat, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(_lat, LOW);
}

Of course, I thought that I could just use the pins on the dsicvoery board to do the same thing, high and low however that doesn't work, don't even know why I thought it would. It uses the Arduino PWM pins and this is where I was stuck.

I even thought maybe logic level shifters would work, but that didn't work either I even used delays, however nothing.