cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F4 discovery board not sending CAN messages.

Rde K.1
Associate III

Hi there, I'm new to ST development and am currently trying to setup a CAN connection between two STM32F4 discovery board. However, using an oscilloscope I can see that no messages are being send. Can anyone help me out finding what the problem is?

Attached are my main.c and a schematic overview of all connections.

5 REPLIES 5
Javier1
Principal

I forgot already what was what but I do this and it works:

I noticed about your canfilter.SlaveStartFilterBank=15?

void CanSETUPnoFilter(){
	//usage of can filters
	//https://schulz-m.github.io/2017/03/23/stm32-can-id-filter/
	//https://www.diller-technologies.de/stm32.html  <-----this guy knows better

canfilter.FilterActivation = CAN_FILTER_ENABLE; //CAN_FILTER_ENABLE;//CAN_FILTER_DISABLE
	canfilter.FilterBank = 0;
	canfilter.FilterFIFOAssignment = CAN_FILTER_FIFO0; //CAN_FILTER_FIFO1
	canfilter.FilterIdHigh = 0;
	canfilter.FilterIdLow = 0;
	canfilter.FilterMaskIdHigh = 0;
	canfilter.FilterMaskIdLow = 0;
	canfilter.FilterMode = CAN_FILTERMODE_IDMASK; //CAN_FILTERMODE_IDMASK;//CAN_FILTERMODE_IDLIST
	canfilter.FilterScale = CAN_FILTERSCALE_32BIT; //CAN_FILTERSCALE_32BIT
	canfilter.SlaveStartFilterBank = 0;

HAL_CAN_ConfigFilter(_hcan, &canfilter);
	HAL_CAN_ActivateNotification(_hcan, CAN_IT_RX_FIFO0_MSG_PENDING); //activate interrupt for received canbus
	HAL_CAN_Start(_hcan); //CRANK UP THE MOTORS!! BRRREM BRRREM starts can
}

maybe post your cubemx file also if youre using cubeMx at all

we dont need to firmware by ourselves, lets talk
Rde K.1
Associate III

Thank you for the quick reply.

I am using CAN2, so that's why FilterBank and SlaveStartFilterBank are 15 and 14 resp. Also the filter does not filter anything, so may I ask why you think the problem lays here? Do you have any remarks on the electrical connections?