cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F4 Buzzer

testbenchmark
Associate III

Hello guys !

I am new at the embedded systems and I am trying figure it out ! 

I am using STM32F446VET7.

I connected my buzzer to an GPIO pin(PB12) which has no pwm speciliaties.

But my buzzer is not working when I connected to the DC signal source like 5V. So I need an PWM kinda source.

When I resarch I only found source codes for PWM Generation channels with Timer. My GPIO has no timer and I cannot change my design right now.

Can I do the same job with Systick timer or something like that. I just need a 1 second beep sound, nothing more.

Here is my design in hardware

testbenchmark_0-1722452246106.png

and the datasheet of my buzzer

testbenchmark_1-1722452306142.png

Do I need to generate a signal with 50% duty cycle at a frequency of 2048 Hz, if you can just give me an idea, I can research and learn how to do it. Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
TDK
Guru

Sound is vibration, so yes you need a square wave or other waveform to drive the buzzer.

You can toggle the GPIO pin in an interrupt which is called at a regular rate. This will probably give fine results, although a dedicated timer PWM channel would be better.

Set up a timer to interrupt at 2*2048Hz and toggle the pin in the PeriodElapsed callback.

Another method would be to set up a DMA transfer triggered by a timer which toggles the pin at a regular rate by writing to the GPIOB->BSRR register. This will free up CPU resources, but is a bit more complicated to implement.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@testbenchmark wrote:

my buzzer is not working when I connected to the DC signal source like 5V. So I need an PWM kinda source

You don't need PWM - you just just need an oscillating signal; ie, something which switches between low and high at a suitable frequency.