cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Request regarding the Power supply scheme of the STM32F303CC

Luk937
Associate

I currently try to design a custom PCB using the STM32F303CCT6TR, as I need a lot of IO ports and it fitted the job quite well.
I'm a computer science Student so please excuse my lack of in depth knowledge, but I haven't found a solution to the problem yet.
As I move components on the schematic I got confused about the Power supply scheme stated in the documentation.
(The picture)
The connection of VDD to the filtering capacitors, in particular.
As the drawing stated 4xVDD to VDD-Source and through 4x100nf + 4.7uf to ground. (with "uf" stands for micro farad)
There are multiple ways I interpreted it.
1. connect one 100nf to each VDD and further let them share a common 4.7uf capacitor.
2. connect each VDD to 4x100nf +4,7uf capacitors, so 5 capacitors per VDD (totaling in 20 capacitors).
3. connect each VDD to a 100nf and an 4,7uf capacitor. (as brackets could have be omitted)

Further, just to clarify the "+" refers to a parallel connection between the capacitors (it would make the most sense but then why didn't the specify it as 1010nf instead of 10nf +1uf ? (same applies for the above but I want to make the example simpler)

Best regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AScha.3
Chief

>1. connect one 100nf to each VDD and further let them share a common 4.7uf capacitor.

Right.

+

1010nf  is what ????

10nf +1uf  is 10nF and 1uF . ok ?

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
AScha.3
Chief

>1. connect one 100nf to each VDD and further let them share a common 4.7uf capacitor.

Right.

+

1010nf  is what ????

10nf +1uf  is 10nF and 1uF . ok ?

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
SofLit
ST Employee

Hello,