cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QUAD SPI External Memory Performance STM32

AlanM
Associate

Hi There - I'm very new to electronic design and need help making a key design decision. Specifically I want to know that the performance will not be a problem when writing to external memory from a stm32 over Quad Spi. I don't want to end up making a school boy error whereby the memory bus or memory chip cannot accomodate the rate at which I want to write data - or maybe there is another practical reason I am unaware of.

Quite simply I want to poll a magnetic position encoder and an accellerometer at circa 200Hz over the regular spi bus and then write their values to the flash memory on the Quad spi bus for analysis later. This is essentially the data logger part of the application. Probably worth mentioning that we are doing some other data analysis on the data as the sensors are polled so some overhead there for the M4 processor - but an existing application uses an M0 processor at 16Mhz and does this analysis fine so we reckon that the M4 at 64Mhz should easily cope.

Really before proceeding I am looking for an indication that I am going to be able to write a timestamp and two sensor values to the external memory at 200Hz - possibly even higher - and it will just work as expected. 

Feedback gratefully received

7 REPLIES 7
Rainer1
Associate III

Hello,

this mainly depends on two (or three) factors

1. Your MCU's QSPI maximum speed specification from the "electrical characteristics" in the MCU's user user manual. The minimum required QSPI clock frequency depends on the number of bytes+overhead you want to write with 200Hz, but sounds manageable via QuadSpi for an M4 @ 64 MHz.
  2. The maximum Byte or Page write time from the QuadSpi memories reference manual: This depends very much from the external storage technology. Could be critical at your planned write load with flash/eeprom, but no problem with fram.