cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M7 Speculative access vs cache

Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Dear experts,

Still not sure after reading the fine manuals.

On CM7 (STM32H7, F7) if I and D caches have never been enabled after reset, can speculative data fetch and instruction fetch still occur?

Is speculative access independent from caching?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I'm no expert so I won't answer but ask: Why do you ask?

The reason why I'm asking why do you asking is, that maybe you are not specifically after things which are called "speculative" by ARM.

Yes, if you disable caches, there will be no cache line fill/dump. However, acesses to memory area tagged Normal may still be merged/reordered and read accesses may still be of a different width than requested by processor (read, LDB into FMC on AXIM may result in 64-bit read, and FMC set to 8-bit will translate that to 8 reads). On a non-STM32 Cortex-M3-based mcu which had for inexplicable reasons GPIO allocated in Normal area, I've seen a bit-banded write merged with subsequent direct write into the same GPIO (read: my bit-banged SPI did not work).

Instruction fetches are a whole other world, and they are not supposed to go to anything ordering/width/whatever-sensitive, as there are prefetches, speculative branching, abandoned/restarted instructions, maybe I've forgotten something else.

JW

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

I'm no expert so I won't answer but ask: Why do you ask?

The reason why I'm asking why do you asking is, that maybe you are not specifically after things which are called "speculative" by ARM.