cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I almost dont want to ask the question...

Z8000
Associate

Hello.

I may be on a fools errand here. I have a STM32U5A9J-DK kit obtained by work, for work. I work for a medical devices company and I get to decide what hardware is used in one of our main medical telestration products. I have endless hardware exposure/experience but almost zero coding skills. I have access to a Dev department and could probably hoodwink a busy coder into writing C code to make this ST kit do what i want it to.

However... I've always wanted to learn some sort of programming language. My background is rooted in vintage computer hardware from the late 70's - 90's. I'm familiar with the early 8bit CPUs and associated operating systems, CP/M for example. I can 'interpret' component data sheets in to useful'ness'. I have a vague idea that 'C' is a step up from assembly language in terms of what its for and the level it operates at. I guess my 'interests' lie at that level, rather than all the modern high-level languages and endless libraries people copy n paste from.

Do any of you have any learning journey stories about how you started out and how you got so you could design/code these ST kits? Am I crazy to try and dive into this end of programming  - I am told Python is much easier. My issue is i find it difficult to learn a thing blind, from textbooks etc. I need a use for it. And now I have a STM32U5A9J-DK Kit 🙂

Do any of you have advice, starting points, books to recommend? One of our Devs  suggested - 'Go to the ST formus/look at the SDKs and work it out'

Thankyou ; -)

9 REPLIES 9
STOne-32
ST Employee

Dear Z8000,