cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use printf() to output to UART

gerhard
Associate II

I have been using printf() to output to UART for many years on a STM32L052

All these projects still compile and printf() to UART, no problem.

I started a NEW project with CubeMX, but now printf() does NOT print to UART.

I use the same int fputc(int ch, FILE *f) as in ALL the other projects, but still no UART output. (Plese see attached code)

I looked at other solutions, but they seem to be doing similar int fputc(int ch, FILE *f)

Any help appreciated

12 REPLIES 12
TDK
Guru

Does HAL_UART_Transmit work if it's used directly within the main program?

If you put a breakpoint within fputc, does it get hit?

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
gerhard
Associate II

TDK,

YES - HAL_UART_Transmit(&huart1, (uint8_t *)message, string_lenght, 100);

NO - Does NOT break at fputc

gerhard
Associate II

TDK,

The app actually crashes at my printf("\r\nmyString\r\n");

Regards

Printf uses the heap by default. Could be an issue there. Look into what “crash�? means. Debug the code, find out where the cpu is at.
If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Paul1
Lead

Possibly:

STM32 provides two versions of libs used for for printf = with/without floating point.

Check your compile settings, maybe running out of memory due to overhead for floating point.

Try setting your projects compile options for "no floating point"

Paul

gerhard
Associate II

Paul,

I am still struggling to make it work.

If I put breakpoints, and step over, the app does NOT crash.

printf() still has NO output, but is does not crash, and the rest of the app continues.

If I remove the breakpoints, the app crashes, and I cannot figure out where / why.

Also., I am using IAR, and cannot find where the compile setting is for floating point.