cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to reset STM32H7 timer/counter and how to set the encoder mode?

Louie88
Associate III

Hi,

I am new with the STM32H7 timer/counter. I found the LPTIM_PulseCounter example which was good starting point. But I have a couple of questions:

1. How can a reset the counter manually (not via automatic reload) of LPTIMER1? I could not find any HAL_LPTIM_CounterClear(), HAL_LPTIM_Counter_Reset(), HAL_LPTIM_Counter_Write(0x0000) function in HAL LPTIM Generic Driver.
  2. As far as I think the LPTIMER1 is capable to count quadrature encoded signals. It has two inputs, I can set the ENCODER mode and I can start the encoder mode with HAL_LPTIM_Encoder_Start (LPTIM_HandleTypeDef * hlptim, uint32_t Period) function. But I guess the period parameter should be set to 0xFFFF in order not to allow autoreload function after PERIOD count.
  3. Does ENCODER mode work with 32-bit timers? No need to be LPTIMER.
  4.  I have STM32H747I-DISCO board. The input1 of the LPTIMER1 is in the Arduino connector PD12 (pin 10 of CN5). Is the Input2 of LPTIMER1 in the same CN5 connector but the next pin: pin 9 of CN5 (PD13)?
  5. Is there any example how to use LPTIMER1 as an encoder in STM32H747I-DISCO board?

Thanks for your help!

Louis

20 REPLIES 20
Louie88
Associate III

Hi TDK,

Thanks, its working now. But, the next problem is the 16-bit encoder counter overflows and I could not find a interrupt handler (callback!!!) which would handle the encoder over/underflow. I drive the encoder from 10kHz pulses for 10 seconds. Counting on CH1/CH2 rising edges are configured so the encoder would contain 200 000 pulses. But it contains 3392, which is right because it overflows 3 times (3 * 65536) + 3392 = 200 000. I could handle it except this stupid way:

uint32_t lastEncoderPulses = 0;
	while (1)
	{
		HAL_Delay(50);
		//+++++
		// TFS20210727	Read counter of TIMER4