cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to prevent uploading a new sketch to a Nucleo board

Saint32
Associate II

I hope this thread is posted in the right category.

I’ve been using Arduino boards for several years and am thinking of using a Nucleo 144 board (specifically, Nucleo-F207ZG) for a project. Once the project is completed, it will be serve as a permanent peripheral attached to a computer; serial data will be sent back and forth from the Nucleo to the computer. The computer will be running Windows 10.

In this setup, it will be important that the code uploaded to Nucleo can’t be overwritten or deleted. It will also be essential that the board won’t be recognized as a storage device in Windows.

I am completely new to Nucleo boards. Is there a way to prevent new sketches from being uploaded to the board? Is it possible to prevent the board being recognized as a storage device in Windows?

8 REPLIES 8
TDK
Guru

> Is it possible to prevent the board being recognized as a storage device in Windows?

The board has two USB connectors. The one you use to program (CN1) is connected to the onboard ST-Link chip. There is no way to modify how this behaves or how it shows up on your PC.

However, you can power the board from the other USB port. In this case, the board won't show up at all on the PC unless you have firmware that specifically implements a USB device.

> Is there a way to prevent new sketches from being uploaded to the board?

You can set RDP level 2 to prevent a program from being changed or read out. This process is not reversible. I do not recommend using it, but rather to reassess your need to prevent changes to the firmware.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Saint32
Associate II

>However, you can power the board from the other USB port. In this case, the board won't show up at all on the PC unless you have firmware that specifically implements a USB device.