cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to perform the FFT of a signal using the STM32F7 Discovery board

ConfusedContrarian
Associate III

Hi, apologies for the slightly long post, I'm hoping someone could hopefully point me in the right direction here. I'm trying to perform the FFT of a 100Khz signal using the STM32 Discovery board but I'm relatively new to the STM32 DSP in general. I've read up on a few things over the past few weeks and I've been trying to get a basic implementation working. Additionally, I've been following the basic working example here as well and adapted it to the F7 board. My main issue seems to fall into two parts:

• Implementing the delay for my given Frequency
  • And Using DMA to fill the buffer with no empty values in the buffer.

My main code looks like this:

#include "main.h"
#include "stm32f7xx_hal.h"
#include <math.h>
#include "arm_math.h"
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdio.h>

#define FFT_INVERSE_FLAG        ((uint8_t)0)
#define FFT_Normal_OUTPUT_FLAG  ((uint8_t)1)
#define SAMPLES						2048 			
#define FFT_Length   1024

uint16_t uhADCxConvertedValue;

uint16_t index_fill_adc_buffer = 0;
float32_t FFT_Input_f32[FFT_Length*2];
float32_t FFT_Output_f32[FFT_Length];

uint16_t index_input_buffer = 0;
float32_t FFT_Input_f32[FFT_Length*2];
float32_t FFT_Output_f32[FFT_Length];

ADC_HandleTypeDef hadc1;
TIM_HandleTypeDef htim1;

void SystemClock_Config(void);
static void MX_GPIO_Init(void);
static void MX_DMA_Init(void);
static void MX_ADC1_Init(void);
static void MX_TIM1_Init(void);

int main(void)
{
     SCB_EnableICache();
   SCB_EnableDCache();

/* MCU Configuration----------------------------------------------------------*/

/* Reset of all peripherals, Initializes the Flash interface and the Systick. */
  HAL_Init();

SystemClock_Config();
  MX_GPIO_Init();
  MX_DMA_Init();
  MX_ADC1_Init();
  MX_USART1_UART_Init();
  MX_TIM1_Init();