cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Ethernet on STM32 H723ZG

shuyu_vk
Associate

Hi all!

I have been using a F446RE board to communicate with an encoder using SPI. I get back a 16-bit value every ms (the process runs at 1kHz). However, I now need to transfer the acquired data over ethernet (it has to be ethernet, not UART or another communication, as it goes through a switch) to a computer in packages ~once per second. I bought an H723ZG board because it comes with a ethernet port, but I have been having a lot of trouble setting up ethernet, as I have had very little prior experience with it. 

I have researched more into how ethernet works, and tried the following things:

1. I followed this tutorial, with the difference that I changed "RMII_TX_EN" to PG11 and "RMII_TXD0" to PG13 as per the schematic for my board. I set up my CPU, ETH:First Rx/Tx Descriptor Addresses, and LWIP:Ram Heap Pointer as per the video (respectively, 0x30000000, 0x30000080, 0x30002000 for rx/tx/lwip ram heap). The code compiles and when I debug there is no hard fault, but I am unable to ping the device. I have my mac set to 192.168.000.030 and the device to 192.168.000.123 with subnet mask 255.255.255.000 and gateway address 192.168.000.001

2. I tried using the STM32 H723ZG example projects "LWIP_UDP_Echo" and "LWIP_TCP_Echo". When I turned off DHCP in lwipopts.h and set my mac to ip 192.168.000.030 and subnet 255.255.255.000 I was able to ping the microcontroller successfully, but I could not get it to echo using the command echo -n "Testing LwIP UDP echo server" | nc -u 192.168.0.10 7