cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UART in STM32-L432KC

Abijith
Associate II

This is regarding the UART1 and UART2.

1. I am trying to learn how UART works by communicating between STM32 and ESP32. I am able to send data from STM32 to ESP32 and it works. However, when I do the same from ESP32 to STM32, for some reason I cannot receive the incoming data. I have clearly checked the UART settings and it is the same for both the devices. What could be the possible problem here?

2. When I use UART1, data is being sent from STM32 to ESP32 but I cannot see it getting displayed on the STM32 IDE's serial monitor. However, data is visible from the ESP32 monitor which indicates UART is working. However, if I use UART2, the data is getting displayed on both monitors. I do not understand what is happening here.

Please advise me on these issues and refer me to the respective documents if needed. I am a new embedded engineer who is trying to use STM32.

9 REPLIES 9
Jacob WOODRUFF
ST Employee

Hi All,

This post has been escalated to the ST Online Support Team for additional assistance. We'll contact you directly.

Regards,

Jake

ST Support

Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

What board is this STM32 on?

If it's on an ST Nucleo, Discovery, or EVAL board - perhaps you have the same problem as this:

https://community.st.com/t5/stm32-mcus-boards-and-hardware/uart-not-receiving-data-when-sent-through-putty/td-p/687406

You would need to disconnect the STM32's UART Rx from the VCP before you can connect it to your ESP32.

The board is STM32-L432KC.

Can you tell how I can disconnect the VCP? Upon seeing the board manual, I only see like a VCP attached to TX.

@Abijith wrote:

The board is STM32-L432KC.

That's the part number of the chip - not the board.

Did you mean NUCLEO-L432KC:

https://www.st.com/en/evaluation-tools/nucleo-l432kc.html

@Abijith wrote: