cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enabling Interrupt for UART stops HAL_Delay

JDonn.1
Associate II

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the ST world so I apologise if I am asking a simple question.

I have a NUCLEO-L4R5ZI-P, I made a new project and cleared the pin outs and started fresh.

I have enabled USART2 and can send and receive data in polling mode.

If I go back into the Device Configuration Tool and enable USART2 Global Interrupt, then go to the NVIC settings and give it a lower priority than the "Timebase: System Tick Timer" everything stops working.

The uwTick variable no longer increments and so the following code hangs on HAL_Delay.

uint8_t data[10];
  uint8_t data2[] = "Hello, World!\r\n";
  /* USER CODE END 2 */

/* Infinite loop */
  /* USER CODE BEGIN WHILE */
  while (1)
  {
    /* USER CODE END WHILE */
    /* USER CODE BEGIN 3 */
	  HAL_Delay(1000);
	  HAL_UART_Transmit (&huart2, data2, sizeof (data2), 1000);
	  HAL_UART_Receive(&huart2, data, sizeof (data), 1000);
  }
  /* USER CODE END 3 */
}

Does anyone have any ideas why just enabling interrupts breaks this?

Cheers,

James

4 REPLIES 4
Guenael Cadier
ST Employee

Hi @JDonn.1​ 

Do you have an IRQ Handler that will handle the USART2 interrupts ?

If you break execution where are you stopped at ?

Maybe that if you enable USART2 interrupt without associated handler, interrupt is continuously raised, and is never processed and cleared.

Regards

The IRQ is auto-generated, I also have an callback handler, it currently does nothing:

void HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback(UART_HandleTypeDef *huart)
{
    HAL_UART_Receive_IT (&huart2, data, 10);
}

This issue is present whether I call HAL_UART_Receive_IT (&huart2, data, 10); (outside the callback for the first time) or not.

When I break I get the following:

Break at address "0x1fff16d2" with no debug information available, or outside of program code.

TDK
Guru