cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DC Relay Heat when it's closed bypass suggestions

Zedestrian
Associate II

Hello everyone,

I'm working on a projects that countains a stm32l152re to communicate with temperature/Humidity sensor amongst other sensors and a DC relay to control some light bulps. However, when the relay is closed, it overheat and corrupt the measured data from the sensors. I know this problem can be looked at from different perspectives (electronics, Mechanics and firmware).

I'm a junior embedded system developer. I contributed to this project by developing firmware for some of the sensors and I've been asked recently to give a suggestion for the heating problem. I searched on the net but couldn't find some valuable info that I could use. Any suggestions will be very welcome especially a firmware one.

I'm open into any questions or more detailed informations. Thanks !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Well, the relay you are using has a rated coil power of 450mW, which is felt as heat generation after a while.

As everyone here has already written, the relay naturally needs energy to pick up. However, the holding current is usually smaller than the pickup current.

It is possible to control the relay with an additional circuit that only allows a higher current pulse when it is switched on and then switches back to the holding current. Theoretically, this should also be possible with PWM (first switch on fully and then generate the holding current using PWM).

However, I don't know of any ready-made proposals for either the hardware or the software variant, but it should be easy to realise with a little development work. At least the hardware variant has been discussed many times on the internet in the last decades.

Regards

/Peter

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.