cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I subvert the context switching for STM32 interrupt handling?

JCase.1
Associate III

The STM32 family has fantastic interrupt service, they stack a whole slew of extra registers for you, and load the LR with an artificial return to properly unstack while looking for opportunities for tail chaining, aborted entry, etc etc. HOWEVER....it is too damn slow. I am finding (STM32F730Z8, 200 MHz clock, all code including handlers in ITCM, everything in GNU assembly) that it takes about 120-150 ns overhead to get into an interrupt.

I am still learning about these, used to the old ARM7 where you had to do it all yourself, however, in those chips, if you had a minimal handler you didn't need to stack much. So -- can I "subvert" the context switching in hardware, and just have it leap to the handler at elevated priority, pausing only to fill the pipeline, and leaving me to take care of stacking what is needed? I don't think so, and haven't seen a way to do it, but I'm working on an extremely tight time-sensitive realtime code, and interrupt switching is eating all my time budget. I'm reverting to doing it all in low-code, polled, but I hate the jitter that gives me on response to pin edges. Help?

(cross posted to stack overflow)

2 REPLIES 2

The ISR entry sequence takes 12 cycles, plus whatever latencies the interrupted process (multicycle instructions, explicitly disabled interrupt or interrupt with higher priority running, etc) impose, plus latencies of all memories and buses which are involved.

> it takes about 120-150 ns overhead to get into an interrupt.

How do you know? How do you observe that, exactly?

If the 200MHz system clock is true (did you confirm that? how?) 24-30 cycles sounds a tad bit more than that, but still not unimaginable.

Where is the vector table? What's VTOR setting? Where is the stack?