cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assistance Needed for Selecting STM32 MCU with Integrated Communication Capabilities

Noushadalik
Associate II

Hello,
I am new to STM32 and would appreciate your help in selecting a suitable MCU from the STM32 series for our project.

We require the following features:

- MCU with Wi-Fi, BLE, and GSM capabilities.
- GSM integration via UART, with library support for point-to-point communication to transmit sensor data to the cloud via MQTT and facilitate OTA updates through HTTPS.
- Wi-Fi capability for transmitting sensor data and conducting OTA updates via MQTT and HTTPS.
- BLE functionality is used to configure Wi-Fi and MQTT parameters.
- Support for various sensor interfaces: I2C, SPI, SDIO, UART, and ADC.

We currently use an ESP32 but need to transition to the STM32 platform. Could you recommend an appropriate MCU from the STM32 series that meets these specifications?

Additionally, I believe GSM PPP integration should be feasible with an MCU that has Ethernet support (through LWIP middleware). Is this correct? Will I also be able to perform OTA updates using the LWIP_HTTP functionality of that MCU?

Finally, could you suggest the most suitable Wi-Fi module for my application?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Your software engineers will be expected to write software.. you might need to find some different ones

FOTA, OTA, and IAP are materially the same thing.

Use whatever means you choose to implement these things, perhaps implement several. Use the protocols and methods to pull the data.

People use HTTP, to pull .BIN or .HEX, or compound files across networks. They use FTP. Some Cellular modems provide download methods, or socket methods, independently of you using PPP via a Data Mode connection.

On serial ports X-MODEM and Y-MODEM are popular due to the protocol being standard, and supported in a wealth of terminal applications spanning 4 decades.