cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What would cause an application to crash the debugger and not be able to reset in the debugger, without exiting the debugger?

KiptonM
Lead

I am just about finished with my application I have been working on for a few months.

The processor is a STM32G051K8T and I have upgraded to STMCubeIDE 1.10.1 and am using the ST-LINK V2 (Blue pill) with my custom board.

All of a sudden it is hanging up in the main program.

At first it hung up in the middle of a sprintf() statement.

The statement was

char buf[120];
	  sprintf(buf,"Calibration Factor: %lu\r\n",ADC1->CALFACT); // dies on this statement
	  print_debug_str("Hello World\r\n");

char buf[120] was originally char buf[40] but I made it longer in the unlikely case it was overrunning the buffer. Made no difference.

I changed "ADC1-CALFACT" to "16l" or "(uint32_t) 16" made no difference. it just hung on that command.

Since I new sprintf probably used the heap, I went into STM32G051K8TX.ld to maje the minimum heap 0x300 from 0x200. And it made no difference.

My first thought was it is happening at a certain memory location. So I put 100 __NOP(); statements before the code that had the sprintf() in it. Did not matter, it still hung up on the sprintf()

I commented out the sprintf() statement and changed the  print_debug_str(buf); to

print_debug_str("Hello World\r\n"); and it hung up in the print_debug str() routine.

void print_debug_str(void * s)
{
	static uint8_t  db[256];
	volatile uint32_t i = 0;
	volatile uint32_t j;
	uint16_t len = strlen(s);
	while (UART1Busy) i++;
	memmove(db,s,len);
	UART1Busy = true;
	for (j=0;j<2500;j++) i++;  // now stopping here
	HAL_UART_Transmit_DMA(&huart1,db,len);
}

void HAL_UART_TxCpltCallback(UART_HandleTypeDef *huart)
{
	UART1Busy = false;
	UNUSED(huart);
}

That made me wonder if it was not memory based but time based.

So I put the 100 __NOP(); in a for loop;

{
	  uint16_t i;
	  for (i=0;i<30000;i++)
	  {