cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Option Byte Programming failed upon trying to modify option bytes

breynard
Associate II

Hello! I'm new to STM32 hardware, and I'm having some difficulties getting it running on my Black Pill board with an STM32F411CEU6. It has both Read and Write Protection enabled, and I am trying to disable them using STM32CubeProgrammer through an STLINK V2. However, upon trying change option bytes, it gives me a weird error.

For attempting to change read protection from value 0xFF to 0xAA it gives me this:

16:24:25:038 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "RDP": 0xAA, found: 0xFF
16:24:25:044 : Error: Option Byte Programming failed Or modified by application after OB_LAUNCH

And similar story for trying to change the write protection values from true to false for all flash sectors:

16:26:41:386 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP0": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:391 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP1": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:395 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP2": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:399 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP3": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:408 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP4": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:416 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP5": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:428 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP6": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:436 : Error: Expected value for Option Byte "WRP7": 0x0, found: 0x1
  16:26:41:441 : Error: Option Byte Programming failed Or modified by application after OB_LAUNCH

I am on Linux, and the software recognizes the MCU type and ID, so I believe the connection is good. Any help would be appreciated!

18 REPLIES 18

hello @breynard ,

I have tried on nucleo board because I don't have Black pill board, and no issue come up on my side.

What I suggest is to modify both OPT RDP and PCROP SPRMOD byte the first time to see if you've always got the same message :

1/