cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large / custom sized nfc tags?

shanehill00
Associate

Currently, I am doing research, assessing feasibility and building a prototype of an NFC based product.

I am discovering that the form factor for commonly available NFC tags are not going to meet my needs. So I need to start looking at something custom.

I am not an expert in the NFC field and I am still in early stages of research but I am quite serious about getting this done. Also, I have made prototypes that do work but like I mentioned above, the commonly available tags will not meet my form factor requirements.

The basic parameters of my needs are as follows:

1) Need to be able to operate on carbon fiber and metal (ferrite backed tags work in my testing/prototypes)

2) I need the tag/antenna to operate over a large field. I am currently working with the idea of antennas at 45mm x 100mm. I have used the online inductance tool ST provides to get a design that might work: eds.st.com/antenna/#/ but I know very little about antenna design and testing.

Can someone help me understand how I would go about getting tags that fit the above requirements?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Henry Crane
ST Employee

Hello,

sorry for the delayed answer. I suggest you the reading og our application notes AN2866 (https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/an2866-how-to-design-a-1356-mhz-customized-antenna-for-st25-nfc--rfid-tags-stmicroelectronics.pdf) and AN2972 (https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/an2972-how-to-design-an-antenna-for-dynamic-nfc-tags-stmicroelectronics.pdf) dealing with antenna design and measurements basics.

if you plan to stuck you tag on metal, using ferrite sheet is mandatory. if using a spacer of 1-2cm is acceptable between tag and metal, use of ferrite may be not necessary if you accept to lose a bit in performance.