cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can the VL53L5CX work with a non-perpendicular surface?

DCabl.1
Associate

Hi all, first post here!

I'm working on a project that I was planning to use the VL53L5CX sensor where it is installed at about 5/6ft above the floor and pointed down at an angle of around 45°. The goal is to be able to calculate the surface of the floor and if any objects come into view and there respective location in the field of view. I'm currently testing with a Sparkfun sensor and an ESP32 board. I have no issues when pointed at the surface perpendicular, but when I try and give it much of an angle it just gives me many 0's for the array. After several minutes these zeros will be populated with data, but I don't think its updating very frequently. The floor surface is either carpet or roughened concrete. I'm not sure if I'm working outside of the capabilities of this sensor or just a newb as this is my first time working with the time of flight sensors?

3 REPLIES 3
Zhiyuan.Han
ST Employee

Hi Deanc

For your question, there are two possible reasons.

The first one could be return signal rate is too less, this depends on the target surface reflective. you can do a similar test with a white wall to check if is due to too weak signal come back.

The second one could be beyond L5CX ranging ability: for your test conditions, let's take 6ft (around 1.8meter) for calculation, if you tilt the sensor with 45 degree, as the FOV is 45 degree, so the biggest tilt angle for the border zones will be 45+22.5 =67.5 degree. and the real distance at the border zones will be 1.8 / cos(67.5)= 4.7 meter. which is longer than the maximum ranging ability of L5CX(4meter in 4*4 mode). of course this will only happen on one side zones, on the opposite side zones, there should be no issue.

Br

Zhiyuan.Han