cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to MCU programming, attempting to recreate STM32 step by step on STM32F779I-EVAL

Ignis
Associate II

Hello!

As the question/topic title says, I'm new to MCU programming. I've touched C# (Unity) before and programmed an intelligent display by 4DSystems for a few applications. Unfortunately we've found some limitations on said intelligent display, so I was tasked with moving on to a better alternative (which would be the STM32F779 series).

With the intro out of the way, I've looked around and saw that there is a step by step guide using the NUCLEO-L476RG. I figured I would be able to adapt the guide to the STM32F779I-EVAL board, but I'm not having much luck. Using STM32CubeMX I created a new project selecting the EVAL board, which automatically selects the STM32F779NIHx as the chip, generated the code and opened it up in TrueStudio. After attempting to follow/convert the guide over to the EVAL board (and not succeeding), here are a few questions:

1. Checking over the GPIO configuration in STM32CubeMX shows that there are 4 configured LEDs (LED0 - Green - PI15, LED1 - Orange - PJ0, LED2 - Red - PJ1, LED3 - Blue - PJ3). If I check the board, I can see the 4 colored LEDS next to the RESET button, but there is not any LED0 - LED labeling starts at LD1. I assume LD1is LED0 and so on?
  2. The HAL_GPIO_TogglePin tooltip specifies that the first argument ranges from GPIOA to GPIOI. Is that correct? According to the GPIO configuration, at least three of the LEDs are set on pins outside that scope (being PJ).

The only lines I added to the generated code are as follows, inside the while loop:

HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(GPIOI, GPIO_PIN_15);
	HAL_Delay(250);

The end result on the board is that LED1 through LED4 stay on all the time. I tried prodding on PI15 on CN6 with an oscilloscope but I see no voltage change.

Thank you for your time!

Edit: Changed instances where I wrote 799 instead of 779 as chip model.