cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solved: STM32F4Discovery CAN Bus timing problems :/

Just Matt
Associate III
Posted on December 27, 2013 at 00:52

EDIT: Thanks to clive1 my issue has been solved! See last post for how ignorant I was 🙂 Cheers!

Hi,

Disclaimer: I'm a new engineer (green).

I've been evaluating the STM32F4Discovery board for some time. I've been trying to figure out why the CAN Bus timing is not working its way out. 

For PCLK1 being at 42MHZ, I have come up with the following CAN bus timings; (I may be calculating this wrong) My Goal is 500kbs

CAN_SJW = CAN_SJW_1tq; // synchronization jump width = 1

CAN_BS1 = CAN_BS1_14tq; //14

CAN_BS2 = CAN_BS2_6tq; //6

CAN_Prescaler = 4; // baudrate 500 kbps 

For some reason the transmitted CAN signal is off by a severe amount, I cannot figure out why :\ The goal is 500kbs

As you can see in the Logic Dump attached in the link below, the width of the smalles signals is 6.25us. Therefore, 1/6.25 = 163Kbs which is way way off. (This is confirmed by another CAN device on the network auto scaling to the baud rate of the Discovery board)

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

You can download my entire uVision project (including all sources) and both LogicAnalyzer dump and picture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jui7t82mhhtjxqh/Can%20Bus%20Example.rar

Here is some sample code. (Complete code in the above rar file)

/* Enable GPIO clock */

RCC_AHB1PeriphClockCmd(CAN_GPIO_CLK, ENABLE);

/* Connect CAN pins to AF9 */

GPIO_PinAFConfig(CAN_GPIO_PORT, CAN_RX_SOURCE, CAN_AF_PORT); //PD0

GPIO_PinAFConfig(CAN_GPIO_PORT, CAN_TX_SOURCE, CAN_AF_PORT); //PD1

/* Configure CAN RX and TX pins */

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Pin = CAN_RX_PIN | CAN_TX_PIN;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Mode = GPIO_Mode_AF;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_Speed = GPIO_Speed_50MHz;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_OType = GPIO_OType_PP;

GPIO_InitStructure.GPIO_PuPd = GPIO_PuPd_UP;

GPIO_Init(CAN_GPIO_PORT, &GPIO_InitStructure);