Associate II
Posted on February 18, 2004 at 04:51

RS232 Communication

3 REPLIES 3
mailtoarup
Associate II
Posted on February 07, 2004 at 06:46

hai,

I am new to the RS232 protocol.I want to implement this with Microcontroller.

I have basic idea of this protocol.Now i want to do like this------->

I am working on indart-softec 's demo board based on ST72F264

microcontroller from ST.

i want to communicate this micro controller with my PC with windows 98 O.S....i have a lcd attached to my micro.I want to have a register in micro controller which will have some charcter say ''A'', ''B'' and ''C''(i.e 3 bytes of data).I want to send this to my PC..and after receiving these 3 bytes PC should transmit these bytes to micro and in turn to LCD.

I have taken out two lines TDO & RDI from ST7 and connected these two lines to ST232's(on other board) T1in & R1out. and two lines T1out & R1in is taken out from otherside of thes ic.Now

i have connecter with 3 pin connected to these two line and a common ground .I did not use other pins.

And I found My Pc's COM port is 9 pin .Pls tell me how to arrange this as i m only using 3 signal TXD,RXD,GND.I believe other pins like RTS,DTR etc are not necessary here.

Now tell me where in the PC i should type Characters ''A'',''B'' & ''C'' and send those.

And wherei n the PC i can see those Characters received from microcontroller.

Pls describe me how to write the code for that.any modification needed in the hardware??

Pls suggest me other examples i can build on this protocal using Micro as i want practise on this.

pls give me info about related Technical site.

I will be tahnkfull for any help.

Any suggestion is welcome.

Regards,

Arup

jatin
Associate II
Posted on February 09, 2004 at 02:26