cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB Host With Multiple Vendor Specific Devices

jwormsley
Associate III
Posted on August 28, 2014 at 22:23

I'm new to USB programming, and am having some trouble getting my head around the concepts involved.  Hopefully someone can have a look at what I think I need to do to meet my goals and tell me where I'm right and where I'm horribly wrong.

First, my goal is to replace an STM32F103 series CPU on a board that uses all five serial ports available on the CPU, plus four more implemented via a quad UART via the FSMC, with an STM32F417 series CPU.  In the process, I want to be able to connect to some of those serial devices via USB instead, as USB versions of them exist (some are also dual interface), eliminating the need for the quad UART.  These devices include a pinpad, receipt printer, and cellular modem.  I'd also like to be able to insert a USB flash drive to perform software updates.

To do this, I know I'll have to add a USB hub chip to my board, but this doesn't seem to hard from a hardware standpoint.  Where things look difficult is with the software to handle all of this.  It's not simple like RS-232 serial ports.

Here's what I've managed to learn by going through the various demo code available via the STM32Cube package for the F4.

1. For devices that can be controlled via a class driver, I can use USBH_RegisterClass to allow the USB stack to recognize that class.  This should be sufficient for the flash drive by using the MSC class from the examples.