cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2S/SPI Interrupts

cmpauley
Associate
Posted on April 12, 2012 at 22:49

Hi, I have a problem with an I2S master receive connection, using SPI2. SPI2_DR is receiving values, so the I2S is working on some level, but none of the interrupts I have set are being generated. RXNE is 1, meaning data was received, and I have the receive interrupt enabled (RXNEIE), but no interrupts are occurring. My program is just stuck in its while loop in main, but it should be stuck in SPI2_IRQHandler. Any ideas of what is up?

The OVR bit is also set to 1 (since I don't care about reading the data register because interrupts aren't even working), so I also figured I would set ERRIE to see if an error interrupt occurs, but had no luck with that either.

#i2s-spi-interrupts-interrupt-isr
2 REPLIES 2
Posted on April 13, 2012 at 01:20

Any ideas of what is up?

Coding error.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
stuart239955
Associate II
Posted on April 18, 2012 at 13:49

When this sort of thing happens,

Check that the interrupt is being set-up properly.

To set up an interrupt, you need to enable the interrupt with its priority & pre-emption.

Such as:

//***************************** START ***************************

//SPI2 Interrupt setup

NVIC_InitStructure.NVIC_IRQChannel = SPI2_IRQn;

NVIC_InitStructure.NVIC_IRQChannelPreemptionPriority = SPI2_IRQ_PREEMPTION;

NVIC_InitStructure.NVIC_IRQChannelSubPriority = SPI2_IRQ_SUBPRIORITY;

NVIC_InitStructure.NVIC_IRQChannelCmd = ENABLE;

NVIC_Init(&NVIC_InitStructure);

//***************************** END ***************************

When running your code, use your development tools to inspect the NVIC peripheral registers.

You're looking to see if the interrupt bits are set & enabled properly. If they're not, you won't trigger the interrupt.