cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to debug hard fault handler exceptions?

danielblesener9
Associate II
Posted on March 26, 2013 at 02:34

Hey all - thanks for taking your time to help

I have no idea how to track down whats going on. Opening debug explore seems logical - but I have no idea what to do with the address faults. I am not sure what they mean.

Is there a systematic way to solve these problems, or is it just experience? I have no clue what to do with any hard faults/mem faults/bus faults. 

If you don't mind taking a moment, could you explain how to methodically solve these problems? I am fairly new to the programming world. 

Last address in the hard fault status register was = 0x40000000

The call stack reads SP: 2000FD08h

Attached is a file showing the fault reporting window

Any advice?

16 REPLIES 16
flyer31
Senior
Posted on March 26, 2013 at 11:32

If you mean STM32F4: You should include a stm32f4xx_it_traps.c in oyur application (as you find the trap interrupts in all the common examples for STM32F4 ... . In the traps you should place a breakpoint instruction.

Then you need to have a look at the programming manual (or ARM V7 TRM) and the registers in SCB - there you get hints what happend.

Mostly it is memory alignment stuff. Take special care that you best DO NOT allow your compiler to use 32bit access at 16 bit addresses - this can be activated by some SCB bit to work, but anyway it is not efficient to do this in the core. In Keil you need to specify ''--no_unaligned_access'' under ''Misc Controls'' on Target page ''C/C++''.

Further hints you will find, if you look for ''align'' in the ARM TRM or the STM32F4 Programming manual.

danielblesener9
Associate II
Posted on March 26, 2013 at 13:14

Sorry, should have mentioned but I am using a STM32F103ZET6. 

Posted on March 26, 2013 at 13:27