cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello Guys, I am a newbie in ST. But before I use Microchip MCU lot and I programming usually in assembly language. The microchip IDE is very good and stable than STVD. And also many examples given to learn easily.I found very difficult in ST.

Mkuma.12
Associate II

So i get very frustating about ST a such big company. Why they not stable good IDE and example as like Microchip.I google lot but not to get write answer Kindly help me to learn ST MCU's in easy way as like my experience to learn Microchip.

Thanks and Regards

Munna kumar

13 REPLIES 13

Big companies want to deal with other big companies, not individuals.​

S​eem to recall IAR having a professional platform, and I did all my 8-bit work without an IDE.

To be honest most of the focus and investment is on the ARM side of things, and that might be a much more marketable set of skills.​

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Mkuma.12
Associate II

Thanks for reply. So guide me what should i do to learn. Since without any example i am unable to start. Kindly suggest me from where i should start.

thanks and regards

munna

I'm a self learner / free climber, I'm probably the wrong guy to ask for guidance.

In the situations without example I'd suggest you focus on learning the fundamentals, logical thinking and problem solving, and apply that to the manuals and documentation you do have.

Mkuma.12
Associate II

ok i will do that.One last, any good book for learning.

Philipp Krause
Senior II

My personal impression (everything below is just the impression of an outsider) is that there are different factions within ST when it comes to STM8.

One faction wants to migrate STM8 users to STM32, phase out the STM8.

Another faction want to keep STM8 alive and develop it further to keep competing with other 8-bit vendors (and avoid STM8 users migrating to other 8-bit vendors).