cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I get USB TX to work on my Nucleo board?

JMatu.1
Associate II

I am new to the ST world and have a Nucleo-H7A3ZI that I am testing with. I have STM32CubeIDE setup and have an LED toggling, so I am comfortable that I have the toolset configured properly.

My next step was to send some characters over USB to the host. Once that is working, I am going to send from the host and echo them back to see both directions working. But I cannot get the Nucleo to transmit anything....

I setup the connectivity for the Internal FS Phy to be "Device_Only". I tried Activate-VBUS both enabled and disabled. In middleware I setup the HS class as CDC and generated the code.

Then in my main.c I:

1 -

#include "usbd_cdc_if.h"

2 -

/* USER CODE BEGIN 2 */
  HAL_Delay(1000);
  /* USER CODE END 2 */

/* Infinite loop */
  /* USER CODE BEGIN WHILE */
  while (1)
  {
    /* USER CODE END WHILE */

/* USER CODE BEGIN 3 */
	  CDC_Transmit_HS(buffer, sizeof(buffer));
	  HAL_Delay(1000);
  }

No dice. I've done a few other things where people recommended adjusting a case statement in usbd_cdc_if.c, etc. But nothing seems to matter. No matter what I do, I get USBD_BUSY in the CDC_Transmit_HS function.

What am I missing? I am sure it is something silly.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Well, It is suddenly working now... What changed? No idea. I spent the day trying different things with no luck. After creating a new project for 83rd time from scratch, it suddenly worked... So I am good for now, but uggh, I hope it stays good. Thanks for the help.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
TDK
Guru

CDC_Transmit_HS returns busy if the previous call is not yet complete. Does your computer correctly detect the device? Are you able to open the serial port in a terminal program of some sort?

The HAL USB support is not awesome, in general.